Luke Combs: What You See Ain’t Always What You Get Album Review

Luke Combs’ brand new deluxe record What You See Ain’t Always What You Get is available now, October 23rd on all streaming platforms. Take a look below as dig a little deeper into the new songs off the deluxe record.

Luke Combs Deluxe

Luke Combs’ What You See Ain’t Always What You Get Deluxe Album is available now

Last year, country superstar Luke Combs released his sophomore record titled What You See Is What You Get, full of 17 original songs. The album quickly went to the top of the charts, achieved platinum status, and boasts four number-one singles so far. If that wasn’t enough for fans to be excited about, Combs decided to release a deluxe version of his latest project, cleverly changing the name to What You See Ain’t Always What You Get. The album features five new tracks that prove once again why Combs is one of the best in country music.

Keeping with his traditional meets modern sound and soulful voice, Combs makes an already incredible project that much better with the addition of the new tracks. “Six Feet Apart,” which was later added to the original album touched the hearts of fans everywhere with its poignant message during these unprecedented times that 2020 has found us in. The somber ballad is truthful and inspiring, reminding us all that “there’ll be crowds and there’ll be shows” and of course, “there will be light after dark.”

Combs’ collaboration with violinist, Amanda Shires, “Without You” was also released before the record. Similar to one of our favorite deep cuts, “This One’s For You” off his debut record, “Without You” is sentimental, honest, and highly personal. The new song is the ultimate expression of gratitude to all that have helped him get to this point in his career.

For fans, who prefer the high-energy side of Combs, the singer added songs like “Cold As You” and “My Kinda Folk” to the project. Along the same lines as “Beer Never Broke My Heart” and “Does to Me,” the former compares a girl to a beer, calling her “cold.” The ultimate diss is as clever as the song is catchy.

The latter, “The “My Kinda Folk” fits in line with his song “Blue Collar Boys.” Combs is always reminding us that he is humble to his core and that he knows exactly who he is and where he came from. Both these songs are a must-play when concert season finally rolls around again!

“There oughta be a law against working this hard and still having this much fun / We get it done, drink a beer, catch a fish, hunt a deer and then we’ll  fire up a little smoke / Me and my kinda folk”

 “The Other Guy” is a mid-tempo song off the new project. All heart, Combs proves that he feels things deeply. The emotive track is all about a guy who looks like he is doing well on the outside but is still grieving over his ex. Truly relatable, the song has Combs’ stamp on it.

“You should see the other guy that’s missing you / and late at night he’s wishing you would come back home  / girl, he can’t move on  / and his heart still takes a beating just living with your leaving / and it might look like I’m doing alright / but you should see the other guy”

Finally, the deluxe record ends with the touching, heartfelt song “Forever After All.” The singer originally teased a clip of this song on TikTok back in August, and fans obviously went crazy for it. Clearly inspired by his now-wife, Nicole, Combs is giving us a love song that completes the trilogy of hit songs that have come before, including “Beautiful Crazy” and “Better Together.” The ballad reflects how love knows no bounds and will truly last forever even in death.

Time and time again, Combs proves his staying power. The singer-songwriter is as real as it gets. As long as he continues to be true to himself, stick to his roots, and release music, the fans, and the success will follow. What You See Ain’t Always What You Get is just a bonus on an already incredible career and record!

Fans can join our Weekly Round-Up e-newsletter here, for the latest in country music and more news about future Luke Combs releases.

To keep up with Luke Combs, follow him on InstagramTwitter, and Facebook.

What You See Ain’t Always What You Get is now available everywhere you buy or stream music. Take a listen below and check out more new recently released music here on our ‘New Country Music’ playlist. Be sure to give the playlist a follow for your weekly new country music fix.


What You See Ain’t Always What You Get Tracklist:

  1. Beer Never Broke My Heart
  2. Refrigerator Door
  3. Even Though I’m Leaving
  4. Lovin’ on You
  5. Moon Over Mexico
  6. 1, 2 Many
  7. Blue Collar Boys
  8. New Every Day
  9. Reasons
  10. Every Little Bit Helps
  11. Dear Today
  12. What You See Is What You Get
  13. Does to Me (feat. Eric Church)
  14. Angels Workin’ Overtime
  15. All Over Again
  16. Nothing Like You
  17. Better Together
  18. Six Feet Apart
  19. Cold As You
  20. The Other Guy
  21. My Kinda Folk
  22. Without You (feat. Amanda Shires)
  23. Forever After All




The Hero Collection by NYCountry Swag is inspired by the men and women of the Fire, Police and Military Departments across the country. Specially selected foundations that support our heroes will receive donations from each purchase. Honoring their service and remembering their sacrifice is what we are dedicated to.


Thank You for supporting Country Music in NYC & Beyond!

Subscribe to our Weekly Round-Up here 
for ticket giveaways, meet & greet contests, upcoming events,
and all things country music in the New York metro area and beyond!

+ Follow our country music adventures on InstagramTwitter & Facebook: